Grim Grinning Ghosts
2011-11-06, 6:58 p.m.

When I was younger I was well aware that it was next to worthless to want something bigger than I could fit into my sleeve so as to carefully remove the protective alarms. It was the morality of a teenager splitting the world in twain. We all crave chaos at that age, no one wants to spend their Halloweens quietly analyzing the AMC movie marathon trying to remember the last time you saw which Halloween film. Thinking which was the last one if you don't count the marathon itself? And who was it and why; that took it upon themselves to remove the Rob Zombie entries from qualification.
All the while taking the time out to rise up and walk the bowl of Reese's peanut butter cups (the kind that were the smallest before the M&M sized ones came about) over toward the ringing doorbell and without incident, feed total strangers.

Without a doubt, that was hardly me. I spent Halloween foraging and terrorizing; and then watching VHS copies of whatever horror movies I had around -- the landscape of your priorities change. Then, I would watch "It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown" when everyone else did, during it's network broadcast three weeks prior. Now, I watch it in the last possible moments of the daylight on the 31st on a crisp and clean DVD quality copy.

Without question my childhood is gone, but hardly dead; and when the night calls me to it on those long cold October months I pine for the days when I could live off of nothing beyond what I could sneak out of the store with. I thirst for long nights under cover of black, and the childish mayhem that lies beyond it.

Even as the winter calls forth its champions, and the nights reach a bitterness that some can barely dream of. I can't help but try to rise above the trappings of the adult world, without forsaking the happiness within them.

Yes
No
Do nothing


Repitition of HatredLoveless AvenueBurn Out (and) Fade Away

PlofileNotesHostArchive